RAMiCS 2018

The 17th International Conference on Relational and Algebraic Methods in Computer Science (RAMICS 2018), organised by the Open University of the Netherlands, will take place in Groningen, the Netherlands, from 29 October to 2 November 2018. The proceedings of RAMICS will be published in the Lecture Notes of Computer Science (LNCS).


Since 1994, the RAMiCS conference series has been the main venue for research on relation algebras, Kleene algebras and similar algebraic formalisms, and their applications as conceptual and methodological tools in computer science and beyond.

Theoretical aspects include semigroups, residuated lattices, semirings, Kleene algebras, relation algebras, quantales and other algebras; their connections with program logics and other logics; their use in the theories of automata, concurrency, formal languages, games, networks and programming languages; the development of algebraic, algorithmic, category-theoretic, coalgebraic and proof-theoretic methods for these theories; their formalisation with theorem provers.

Applications include tools and techniques for program correctness, specification and verification; quantitative and qualitative models and semantics of computing systems and processes; algorithm design, automated reasoning, network protocol analysis, social choice, optimisation and control.

The tentative schedule for RAMiCS 2018 is:

  • Title and abstract submission: 6 April 2018
  • Submission of full papers: 13 April 2018
  • Notification: 29 June 2018
  • Final version due: 27 July 2018
  • Conference: 29 October – 2 November 2018

Conference Chair: Stef Joosten (also local organiser), Open University of the Netherlands

PC Co-Chair: Jules Desharnais, Université Laval, Québec, Canada
PC Co-Chair: Walter Guttmann, University of Canterbury, New Zealand

Program Committee:
Luca Aceto, Reykjavík University, Iceland
Rudolf Berghammer, CAU Kiel, Germany
Jules Desharnais, Université Laval, Canada
Uli Fahrenberg, École Polytechnique, France
Hitoshi Furusawa, Kagoshima University, Japan
Walter Guttmann, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Robin Hirsch, University College London, UK
Peter Höfner, Data61, Australia
Marcel Jackson, La Trobe University, Australia
Jean-Baptiste Jeannin, University of Michigan, USA
Peter Jipsen, Chapman University, USA
Stef Joosten, Open Universiteit, The Netherlands
Wolfram Kahl, McMaster University, Canada
Barbara König, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
Dexter Kozen, Cornell University, USA
Agi Kurucz, King’s College London, UK
Tadeusz Litak, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
Roger Maddux, Iowa State University, USA
Annabelle McIver, Macquarie University, Australia
Szabolcs Mikulás, Birkbeck College, UK
Ali Mili, New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Bernhard Möller, Universität Augsburg, Germany
José N. Oliveira, Universidade do Minho, Portugal
Alessandra Palmigiano, TU Delft, The Netherlands
Damien Pous, CNRS, France
Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh, Queen Mary University of London, UK
John Stell, University of Leeds, UK
Georg Struth, University of Sheffield, UK
Michael Winter, Brock University, Canada
Jaap van der Woude, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands

You can find the Steering Committee on the contact page.